What have I gone and done diddly done?

12 Jun

I’ve been pottering around with Photoshop for over 15 years now and I’ve barely scratched the surface of what it can do. I often lose myself for hours following online tutorials and chasing tips and tricks in an endless chain of hyperlinks. It’s a well known fact that a Photoshop minute, like a Microsoft minute, bears little resemblance to 60 seconds that pass in normal time. So I’ve heard of Scott Kelby.

What I didn’t know, but do now thanks to Very Annie Mary, is that Scott Kelby organises an annual Worldwide Photowalk. This year’s will be the third and so far nearly 10,000 people have signed up to join nearly 600 walks all over the world, including here. There are walks organised the length of the UK from the south coast all the way up to Stirling.

Yup Stirling! Less than 30 miles away.

Obviously I was keen to sign up for this – what’s not to love about getting together with a bunch of camera wielding strangers led by a professional photographer, taking oodles of photos and retiring to some suitable hostelry afterwards for a bit of imbibing and a natter?

Then I saw the date. Right slap bang in the middle of my holiday.

Bugger.

So…. totally out of character I thought “Stuff it, I really want to do this”, and checked to see if there were any close by our holiday villa.

And I’ve only gone and signed myself up for a 2 hour evening photowalk in Kissimmee (eeek!).

Not content with catapulting myself into the company of Scottish strangers who will at least understand me, oh no not me, why do something that easy when I can challenge myself to mix with a group of American strangers!

I’ve yet to meet an American lacking in self confidence.

I’ve also yet to meet an unfriendly American.

Still, I’m bricking it so if anyone’s in Florida on 24th July and wants to meet, y’know, I’ll be there, trying to hide!

You thought I was bricking it about The MADS?

PAH!

Butlins will be a breeze after this.

24 Responses to “What have I gone and done diddly done?”

  1. Kelly June 12, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    I could introduce you to a few unfriendly Americans, also one or two lacking in self confidence, but I don’t want to ruin your happy impression of us πŸ˜‰

    I wish I was closer to Florida, because I’d totally love to walk around snapping photos with you. Hey, the drive to Ohio would only take you like 8 hours. Are you up for it? LOL

    • mrsw June 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      Yeah! I tried to get on the Atlanta one but it was full – surely you can’t be only 8 hours away? Atlanta was 6 and a half! Oh dear – is my geography that bad? I thought Tennessee and Kansas or Missouri were in the way… off to Google Earth πŸ™‚

    • mrsw June 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      EIGHT!!?! More like FIFTEEN – Atlanta looks like halfway between thee and me by Google Maps reckoning – or did you mean and eight hour FLIGHT? πŸ˜€

    • mrsw June 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

      Ah jeez PMSL – American Airlines actually charge over $1,000 to fly from Orlando, to Chicago, to Dallas, to Dayton – and it takes nearly 11 hours – WTF!!! roflmfao!

  2. Marylin June 12, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Oooh that’s awesome!

    There’s one in Stirling eh? I may have to look into that one… πŸ˜‰

    • mrsw June 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      Get ye to Stirling πŸ™‚

  3. Kelly June 12, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    Um, did I mention that geography is not my strong suit? But hey, I was only off by 7 hours πŸ˜‰

    • mrsw June 13, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      Atlanta too far then? My OH hasn’t been before and he likes driving don’t you Neil? πŸ™‚ I would rather enjoy a visit to Stone Mountain when it’s open.

  4. Barbara June 12, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Thanks for the timely reminder. I watched this unfolding with envy last year, thinking that I must join in this year and would have totally forgotten if you hadn’t said. I’m off to see what will be going on near me.

    Also – after my first meeting with you, I came away with the impression of a very likeable, friendly, chatty, extremely photographically talented Scot – don’t worry about it, you’ll be just fine and dandy. And on top of that, I’m from the very south east and I understood you perfectly. Smile alot and keep snapping!

    • mrsw June 13, 2010 at 8:07 am #

      Jeez! well I HAVE to go now don’t I?

      πŸ˜€

  5. Smitten by Britain June 13, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    Gosh, you are brave. Not sure I would have given up a day of my hols for that, but well done you! Have you only been to Florida in the states? I live in the NE and meet lots of unfriendly Americans every day. ;-P In the south, you’ll be fine.

    I can tell you’re a PS expert. Funny enough, I’m teaching myself PS this week. I took a graphics class last year and bought the PS Classroom text and have yet to find the time. Next week I’m putting my foot down and getting it done.

    • mrsw June 13, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      Ah we’re over for a month – and it’s just one evening – I’m quite excited now πŸ™‚

      My parents lived in Canada for a couple of years then southern Georgia for a few so my experience of the US is very southern tinged and they are the friendliest people I’ve met anywhere. Most of my time has been spent, obviously, in Georgia and Florida but I have also visited Kansas where again everyone we met was just lovely and really went out of their way to welcome and help visitors.

      • Smitten by Britain June 13, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

        Yep, mid-westerners are notoriously friendly as well. Enjoy your holiday.

  6. Priness_L_88 June 13, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    You’ll be ok, you can hide behind your camera!

    • MrsW June 14, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      Need a WAAAAAY bigger camera for that!

  7. Wendy June 14, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Yup…you need to come north of the Mason-Dixon line to witness and experience rude and rather unfriendly Americans. The south and the mid-west are the nicest and most friendly. Wow, you are staying in FL for a month. Hope you have a great time.

    • mrsw June 15, 2010 at 8:02 am #

      And it wears off again by Ontario? Weird!

  8. Kristin (Wanderlust) June 14, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    I read this yesterday and immediately looked up the cost of a flight to Florida (my kids have never seen a beach or been on a plane). I’m not sure I can afford both this AND a divorce (dammit). But I was sorely tempted!

    • mrsw June 15, 2010 at 8:02 am #

      Mr Visa is helping us out a lot – life is short and we say “Ah fuckit!”

  9. Heather Davis June 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    That’s great. Well done you! I have spent a lot of time in Florida and it’s hard to find anyone unpleasant there. You’ll have a fab time. Can’t wait to see all the pics.

    • mrsw June 15, 2010 at 8:05 am #

      We’ve never stayed more than 5 days before so this should be an “experience”. After 5 days we were usually pretty knackered and happy to head back to my folks home in Georgia for a rest πŸ™‚ That’s why we booked 4 weeks – to allow for a bit of Orlando Recovery Time iykwim (I mean margaritas).

  10. Tim (aka) Dotterel June 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Sounds cool! And afterwards you can Photoshop the results to make it look as though you were on the original walk! Gotta love Photoshop…

    • mrsw June 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      lol – now why would I Photoshop me into the Stirling Worldwide Walk when I’m going on the Kissimmee one? Sounds a bit retrograde to me πŸ˜€ (no offence to Stirling).

      We’ve managed to borrow the school’s D90 for the summer so MrW has signed up too – now we have six weeks or so to negotiate who’s getting what camera – there may be favours changing hands…

  11. Spudballoo July 6, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh I’m jealous! I soooo want to do this, but none near me. And I’m too afraid to ‘lead’ one. weep. Might have to fly out and join you…!

Leave a Reply

