Location scouting and playing with Adobe Lightroom 3… and relax

17 Jun

I think I’m more than a little bit in love with Adobe Lightroom 3.

For the first time in days my heart wasn’t beaten down with clouds by 9am. Disappointing doesn’t even come close to describing the glorious blue skies I have been waking up to every morning transforming into grey shrouded skies by the time the school run is done. I need sun.

This morning Paul and I went location testing, just in case, you know, I ever pluck up the courage to photograph some kid not related to me.

And the sun kept on shining.

So much so the photographer bit of me sought some shade.

My boy was a 6 star practice model. 7 even.

Most of the time…

He’s a monster!

No he’s not…

So yeah, Lightroom 3. I am 7 days into a free 30 day trial and already fretting at the thought of losing it. I tried Lightroom 2 when it was new and wasn’t really impressed. It took me ages to get my head round the (lack of) filing transparency – but I think my Windows 3.1 head finally got over all that when we bought the Mac Mini last year. I almost don’t care where things are stored. Almost.

So what do I love about it?

I love that I can edit a photo, tweak away til I’m happy as a proverbial pig then go to the next photo and hit ONE button and apply the exact same tweaks to that photo too. When taking a lot of photos in the same conditions this is, frankly, big time shawsomeness

MrW tells me it’s only ยฃ65 education price so that’s calmed me down. If you have kids you usually qualify for education price – yay!

You’ll have to find you’re own gorgeous model though – this one’s taken…

When I get me a full copy of LR3 I am so going to bore you all with my learning curve – it’s powerful, affordable and perfect for both beginners and professional photographers.

And no this is NOT a sponsored post – I’m just so in love with LR3 I feel the need to share.

Later peeps!

24 Responses to “Location scouting and playing with Adobe Lightroom 3… and relax”

  1. Kelly June 18, 2010 at 1:55 am #

    Yeah, Lightroom is pretty cool. I had a hard time choosing, but I went with Aperture for Apple. I still wonder if I made the right choice. They are very similar in capabilities, but Aperture speaks a totally different language. I like it because it integrates so seamlessly with my Mac, but the learning curve is a bit steep. Sigh.

    Your location looks awesome. I think I need to drag Violet out for a little shooting practice!

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

      You can never get too much practice – especially with a when 4 year olds are feeling accommodating ๐Ÿ™‚

      I couldn’t get my head round Aperture at all – it looked like it had eveything but as soon as I started trying to edit RAW files I totally lost myself, my files, my temper!

  2. Tenille June 18, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    I have very little idea when it comes to photography or photo editing, but I’m glad you do. Those images are gorgeous.

  3. frank June 18, 2010 at 6:01 am #

    Where is this?!? I want to go there.

  4. Barbara June 18, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I’m enjoying playing with the iphone apps at the moment. They take away most of the decision process which is good for someone like me (with even less confidence than you). One day I’ll take a deep breath and go play with Gimp properly. I’m just not quite ready yet!

    Stunning photo’s. If you ever want to borrow my two monkeys you’d be more than welcome. Mind you, not quite sure how I’ll get you and them together!

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      14th September? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Barbara June 18, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

        Not a chance. I plan to be drinking too much to be a responsible parent on the way home. Maybe next year?!

  5. TheMadHouse June 18, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I am useless I have PSE and still can not use it! I love the images though – Need to set =you lose with the mini’s if you are ever in the area!

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      13th September? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kristin (Wanderlust) June 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    These are really gorgeous (both the photos and the model). I wish I knew enough about photography and photo-editing to pretend I needed something like this. I have the stunning models, lack the skilz. And why do kids always, always have stuff on their hands? Don’t they know we’re forever trying to take pictures of them for our blogs? Inconsiderate.

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

      I can’t believe I left his name tag on from his Primary 1 induction day nevermind the paint. Talk about #fail!

  7. Priness_L_88 June 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    I will never get over how beautiful your son is!
    Everyone keeps telling me I need to get Light Room to play with! I think I may have to give it a shot!

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

      Definitely worth having a go – wait til you know you’ll have time to use it and download the 30 day trial – I already know I’m no desiring this software after 7 days and 2 goes ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Marylin June 18, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I am loving Lightroom 3 so far too… probably haven’t quite fiddled about with it as much as I’d like to yet, but I’m getting there!

    I have some presets you might like too… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

      You know my email addy ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. snafflesmummy June 18, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Your photos are always so amaxing. I hope you do well at the MAD’s.

    How much of the photos is down to the camera and how much to the edits? I am looking at buying a camera soon so wondering what features to be looking for?

    • MrsW June 18, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      I have the bottom of the range, entry level Nikon dSLR – the D40X. I could point you at literally oodles of photography sites where they use cameras 5 times the price of mine and edit stuff to hell and back and you could compare – but that would be mean of me ๐Ÿ˜›

      Instead I’ll point you at a brilliant young photographer called Alex who regularly takes part in the iHeartFaces competitions and regularly places, she uses a ยฃ80 compact – go see her stuff – she’s fifteen and her photos are amazing http://www.flickr.com/photos/27006266@N02/

      So it’s not the camera really. Editing helps but you have to have something to work with in the first place, here’s some of the originals from the above shoot for comparison, all I really did was crop and pop the colour a bit before adding a slight vignette http://www.flickr.com/photos/cx2uk/sets/72157624180082825/

      If you want a dSLR and haven’t used one before I’d go for the cheapest Nikon or Canon or Sony and get Googling tutorials! That’s what I did. We’ve had this camera since 2007 and I’ve only really started getting the hang of it this past 6 months or so.

      My daughter took some stunning photos with a point and shoot on their last school trip – a Canon I think, not sure of the model but it retailed at around ยฃ170. My sister has a Fujifilm Finepix S800 and gets terrific photos from it.

      I suppose the biggest question is what do you want from a camera that you’re not getting at the moment – the thing that finally drove me to the dSLR was school sports day photos of grass and feet escaping out the side of the frame – it drove me NUTS not being able to capture action instantly. I’d never even heard of SLRs or dSLRs!

  10. cartside June 19, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    LR3 must be good, have heard so many good reviews. I’m useless at it though, don’t understand it – same for PSE and Gimp which I’ve tried too. Did you just start using it or follow a tutorial? I’m not very patient for tutorials but maybe I really should give it a shot, esp. if that educational price is true, that would definitely tempt me!

    • mrsw June 19, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      I applied all my years of Photoshop to LR3 which probably isnโ€™t a good idea โ€“ they are different, they do different things and it just frustrated me at first! I think arriving at LR3 without any preconceptions would be ideal. Although Iโ€™ve been a Photoshop user for donkeys years I hadnโ€™t really used it for photo enhancement until last year, Iโ€™d been pottering around using it as a graphic design tool (Adobe Illustrator just baffles and infuriates me!).

      I learned everything about how to tweak, fix and enhance photos online. Everything. All for free. Thereโ€™s a massive community of photographers out there who have already done the work and share all their expertise freely. I must gather all my favourite tutorials into a post and share what I like about them โ€“ why I think they work.

  11. Kate - k8tography June 22, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Gorgeous shots – I do love that one where he is upside down – great stuff!

    Thanks for the info about your friend Alex. I had seen some of her work via iheartfaces and loved it but didn’t realise that she used a p&s camera like that. She is brilliant.

    My 11 year old has the next model up from that and yep – she has taken some great shots – even entered them into a local comp (didn’t win anything) but she was thrilled anyway.

    I have LR as well as Photoshop and I keep going back to PS. My eldest has CS5 – I haven’t played with that yet as he says my computer is probably too slow for it – well hello mr 15 year old – give me yours then! lol

  12. Kat at Slugs on the Fridge June 28, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    I could have written this!! I am desperately in love with LR3. I have the beta at the minute, which expires on Wednesday, then gonna get the free trial, then try to score and education copy (BFF is a student). Ic an thoroughly reccomend the dawn gordon presets if you don’t have them already. http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=af87642de56ed7509bf8d6369220dcabe04e75f6e8ebb871

    • mrsw June 28, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      Ooh thanks – you can’t have enough presets can you? I think that’s probably because I can’t figure out any way to lessen their effect – sometimes I’d like to use 25% of a preset rather than the whole lot! I’m maybe too entrenched in my Photoshop layers but think I probably will buy LR3 if only for the sharpening and noise reduction both of which are quite frankly knocking my socks off ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Spudballoo July 6, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    oh i’m a Lightroom LOVER too! i just love how fast it is, and how instinctive. What a beautiful child your boy is, and your shots are really wonderful! Bravo.

    x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. iHeartFaces – Teens | clinically fed up - June 21, 2010

    […] Photos no Words « Location scouting and playing with Adobe Lightroom 3… and relax […]

Leave a Reply

