iHeartFaces – Teens

21 Jun

The next couple of weeks over at iHeartFaces are focussing on teens, be they models, photographers or guest judges, it’s make way for the young uns!

I took Kathryn, 15, out for a session last night since there’s finally some SUN here. We went back to the same location I’d had a go at last week with Paul and I managed to get a lot of pretty decently exposed, sharp, well posed photos….. but for some reason I’m drawn to this totally overexposed, badly sited effort.

On the whole I think I got better shots in the middle of the day bright sunshine than I did in the evening with the sun setting on us. You live and learn! Or is it practice and learn? One of them.

16 Responses to “iHeartFaces – Teens”

  1. stephanie June 21, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    great pic. and i say it’s practice and learn, i think 🙂 that’s kind of how i do things too.

  2. Allison June 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    I really love it!! Boy that one eye is piercing!

  3. Kim June 21, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Gorgeous photo! Love that eye!

  4. Dana-from chaos to Grace June 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I understand why you went back to this one! It’s gorgeous! The angle is incredible, the subject is simply GORGEOUS, and what those badly overexposed spots do to her face is simply YUMM-MMY! It brings your eyeballs directly to the subject! I love it. I love everything about this shot!

    And I am having the exact opposite problem now: the sun is out ALL.THE.TIME and we are MELTING in heat! LOL

  5. KatrinaLee June 21, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    I L.O.V.E everything about this image!

  6. Kelly June 21, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    This is gorgeous.

  7. Kristin (Wanderlust) June 21, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Wow, gorgeous eyes! Eye?

    We came by the latest version of Photoshop yesterday (CS5 I think it is). We’ve been using an outdated version forever. I haven’t tried my hand at it yet but Jim was showing me some of the new features. Am amazed.

  8. Lisa Edney June 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Love the back lighting on this image in contrast with her bright shirt and eye… nicely done!

  9. Marylin June 21, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Sometimes it’s the photos that aren’t technically correct that are actually the best of the lot! 🙂 Kathryn is beautiful, she looks so grown up here.
    When are you away/coming back from Florida? We’ve got to try to meet up at some point over the holidays, even just an afternoon at South Inch with the kids or something? x

  10. If I Could Escape June 21, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Beautiful! I saw the theme on my greader and thought I have to enter a photo of my oldest this week. Hopefully, my back will be well enough so I can take the man out and photograph him later this week.

  11. Candice June 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I love this picture, I love the expression on her face!

  12. Lolli June 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Great shot! I love her expression, the angle of the shot…everything!

  13. Elizabeth June 22, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    Great perspective!

  14. Kate - k8tography June 22, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    Oh man! I seriously adore this! The overexposure works sooooo perfectly it is ridiculous! And she would have to be one of the most lovely 15 year old teens I have seen – maybe we should match make – with one of my boys? I need a trip overseas soon! xxx

  15. Smitten by Britain June 22, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    That’s a lovely photo. Well done.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I ? Faces . . . Celebrating Teens « If I Could Escape . . . - June 22, 2010

    […] photo contest that I’ve participated in only once before.  Why?  Have you seen some of the entries?  They are absolutely amazing.  I mean, how on earth can my very amateurish photography skills […]

Leave a Reply

