iHeartFaces: Teens Only

6 Jul

Sometimes I’ll be happily dumping gigabytes of RAW files onto the first hard drive I can find with a smidgen of space and I’ll come across a photo that makes me go “Huh?” as in “Huh? Who took that?”.

All three of my children have a habit of sneaking my camera away when I’m not watching. Actually my daughter, now 15, started these shenanigans when she was a pre-schooler back in the days of film. More than once I’ve parted with hard earned cash in return for a whole reel of photos of stuffed furry things posed in a row.

This is Kathryn’s latest surprise shot caught when I was otherwise engaged.

I like surprises.

18 Responses to “iHeartFaces: Teens Only”

  1. Elyssa July 6, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    I love it!

  2. Elyssa July 6, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I love it! Very nice surprise:)

  3. Spudballoo July 6, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    oooooh that’s a super surprise! Glorious shot. My boys steal my iphone and take 2,000 photos of their feet. My Big Girl’s Camera is normally out of reach [reminds self to keep lovely Nikon in solitary confinement forever]

    • mrsw July 7, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      I’m terrible – I let the 4yo snap away with the Nikon – but tis only a D40X. If I had me a D700, my current object of lust (I’m sure that condition has a name…) it would be cherished in a way that would break my children’s hearts 😛

  4. Lauren P. July 6, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Very good coloring. I love the face.

  5. Marylin July 6, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    That’s a great shot! Maybe you should upgrade your camera body and let Kathryn have the old one…? 😉

    • mrsw July 7, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

      The bathroom is being ripped to bits as a type – not yet…. not yet….. 🙂

      • Marylin July 8, 2010 at 6:47 am #

        Ooooh yay!! I know you’ve been wanting to do that for ages! Woot! 😀

  6. M July 7, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    Love the natural effect of your picture!

  7. Katherine July 7, 2010 at 3:17 am #

    Beautiful! So happy and summery. Gorgeous smile, too 🙂

    K xx

    http://www.thoseblissmoments.blogspot.com

  8. Kristin (Wanderlust) July 7, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    Wow, she’s a natural! Very nice.

  9. Serline July 7, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Beautiful!

  10. TidyMom July 7, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    SWEET surprise!! Nice shot! don’t you love to see your children’s interest in your camera!!

    My daughter’s entry here http://www.flickr.com/photos/tidymom/4771192545/
    and her friends here http://www.flickr.com/photos/tidymom/4771788148/

  11. Jackie July 7, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    What a gorgeous picture! A wonderful surprise!

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog – much appreciated! I think Islay is quite near the top of our list too (my husband is a whisky nut – not sure I can handle a week of distillery tours but we’ll see …!).

    • mrsw July 7, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      Ah I would love the distillery tours – I simply adore the smell of whisky – can’t abide the taste of it but that aroma? Divine! (yes this does make my Scottishness suspect but hey-ho!)

  12. mizzpink July 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Thats a fab picture, love the angle. I must admit that my nearly 4 year old loves my nikon and I let him use it as long as I am in catching distance, I want him to love photography as much as I do,looks like your kids do!!

  13. Rosie Scribble July 8, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Gorgeous shot. So natural.

  14. Heather - Notes From Lapland July 13, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    that’s fabulous! It’s just the sort of shot i always want tog et but never manage xcasue as soon as they see the camera they go into ‘pose’ mode.

Leave a Reply

