Where the air is still and the Coke cans are large

13 Jul

After 20 hours and 21 minutes….

Oh happy day!

Peanut free soya butter, Margarita mix by the gallon, frozen juice, Fruit Loops and the smell of Tide, oh I have missed you America, especially your tumble driers that – DRY.

The journey was long and boring and fairly uneventful, you had to make your own fun..

Scaling dizzy heights or sucking on nicotine sticks that look uncannily like a Lillet…

British Airways cabin crew are, bar the lovely Kevin, pretty pissed off. There’s a political statement in there somewhere.

Getting here via Orlando International Airport was a mistake I might not make again. I’ve never in my life taken more than 90 minutes to get out of an airport and that was Atlanta Hartsfield which is huge. Three hours after landing we finally picked up our hire car feck off huge truck type thing and got the hell out of there.

Lovely villa though. There has been plenty pool time…

and a bit of shopping at the request of the young uns…

Yes they are sad and so miss Woolworths.

We found the local curry house…

Or maybe not.

We spent Monday at Universal Studios without a camera. I’m having some trouble with cameras here, every time I take one out the lens steams up… it’s killing the spontaneity. And they are heavy… so I can’t be arsed… too much to see and do!

22 Responses to “Where the air is still and the Coke cans are large”

  1. Smitten by Britain July 13, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sad to see you standing in front of Wal-mart. I hate Wal-mart, but hey, when in Rome! I have to laugh at your Tide comment. I love the smell of Fairy liquid. And after just returning from Britain, I’m in love with my tumble dryer too. Britain could use some better drying systems in their washer/dryer combos. And yes, that’s about as much Indian food you’ll find in America sadly. ;-(

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      Yeah – I have some issues with Wal-Mart, then they bought Asda and now they’re ubiquitous and I’m lazy 😦

  2. Rachel Durik July 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Glad you made it! Isn’t Publix wonderful? 🙂

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      I luuuurve Publix 🙂 Need to find a Winn Dixie now – oh I’m a party animal me lol!

  3. Marylin July 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Glad to hear you’re all there safely! I’m sooo jealous… especially of the pool! *sulk*

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 12:37 am #

      Oh yeah the pool, the splashing and screaming and fighting and no running, I said NO RUNNING! I mean it, no jumping on people, just stop, no you can’t somersault in, no you can’t, do not dive in there’s a concrete step there, oh for crying out loud in the house NOW. S’great! (for about 20 minutes). Perhaps by the end of 4 weeks it will have sunk in and we will see some good pool manners – perhaps… 😉

  4. Kristin (Wanderlust) July 13, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    Welcome! Glad you made it in safely and (mostly) uneventfully. Enjoy the dryers and large drink containers. We do what we can.

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 12:43 am #

      And you do it so well! I mean it. My margaritas are humongous. And for that I can almost forgive you for Folgers… almost.

  5. veryanniemary July 14, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    Can you believe I have spent the last 8 years either here in Georgia or in Florida and I have never been to Universal Studios? I am hanging my head in shame – I’m culturally deprived.

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      srsly? 🙂 We love Universal Studios, the carts selling ice cold beer won me over back in 1997 when I visited both Universal and Disney (dry dry Disney). Not much of a choice really. I smile when I walk into Universal in a way I’ve never done at a Disney park. We were there again today… love love love the place and so glad we have a 14 day ticket (the Harry Potter area actually has a queuing system just to get in – we don’t do queues so we’re back tomorrow morning at 9 since we plan to avoid weekends altogether).

      You must go, no really, I insist 😉

      • veryanniemary July 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

        I’m ashamed of myself and resolved to correct this error as soon as possible. Maybe at Thanksgiving – all the Brits. will be at school and all the Yanks will be with their families…I hope.

        • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

          You can hope 🙂 We finally got into the Harry Potter area today – it was a bitty mental to say the least. Not sure if we are going to make it up to the Atlanta area – kids are disappointed but when we looked into it everything is $200 and the rest, the zoo? $200, Stone Mountain? $200, Six Flags? Well over $200…. one night in a hotel? Yeah it adds up 😦 I is sad

        • veryanniemary July 15, 2010 at 2:34 am #

          Bummer – I completely understand – especially when you have 2 kids that count as adults… You have inflated your prices a little I think – you should get into these places for less than $200 a pop and I have a finished basement you can borrow – sounds terrible but it’s cool! We have a double bedroom, a bathroom and a very large sitting area down there….it also has outside windows and doors into the back yard so you could come and go at your own leisure and have daylight too…. you would be very welcome to use it if you came this way – the kids would all have to pile into the sitting area though – your daughter may not be too excited at that thought! She looks awesome as a red head by the way.

  6. Dad Who Writes July 14, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    We visited a Wal-Mart when we went over to see my mother in Florida. Has to be done. Didn’t go to the Disney places etc, though. One day…

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

      You’ll need waaaaaay more than one day 🙂

  7. Niecey July 14, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    That extra 5mls makes all the difference. (or is it 3 mls? I can’t remember)

    I love the dryers here.

    I’d go to a super target before a wal-mart any day. But whenever we were on holiday in America our first stop was always wal-mart. We giggle looking back.

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

      Ooh ooh just been Googling for Targets and there are two Super Targets nearby and one selling (ooh the excitement) GROCERIES! I think I’m going to need a bigger suitcase 😀

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      PS It’s a stonking 25ml Niecey – enough to make me take a second look and think “That can’s a bit big innit?” 🙂

  8. Barbara July 14, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Peanut free soy butter – sounds intriguing. Bring us a jar back?!

    • mrsw July 14, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

      Will definitely do that – some crunchy and some smooth. It’s not half bad, you get the impression and texture of peanut butter, not at all bad. Quite yummy. In fact I’m off to have some right now… 🙂

  9. If I Could Escape July 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Love your hubby’s pinkie in that photo of him! Mine does that too and I’m always laughing at it! You must find target — no shopping at Wally World or Winn Dixie allowed although they can provide hours of entertainment if it’s a rainy day! Get thineself to a Whole Foods!

    Anyway, fab photos! Can’t wait to meet up!

    PS Orlando airport always takes forever to get thru unfortunately. I think it is just the sheer number of international travelers that descend upon it every day.

  10. Barbara July 15, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    You’re lovely you are.

Leave a Reply

