Must stop blinking

18 Aug

How did this happen?

I caught the tiny, fleeting hint of apprehension

Then it was gone

And now I have three school children

And thus begins another battle against conformity, uniformity and bashing them into round holes

Wish us luck!

22 Responses to “Must stop blinking”

  1. Sandy Calico August 18, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Luck!
    ‘Must stop blinking’. Yep, me too. You have a gorgeous family missus.

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      Aye they scrub up no bad for the first day of term πŸ™‚

  2. Priness_L_88 August 18, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Aww and they’re all gorgeous!
    Good luck!

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      Thank you Livi – I think I’ll need it – can’t even say it will make me gray and am SO there already!

  3. Marylin August 19, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Good luck! Can’t believe our wee guys are at school now! I’ve gotta say though, I kinda like it! πŸ˜€ we should be ladies who lunch (with a max in tow) once the kids go full time… πŸ˜‰

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

      Sounds like a damn fine plan πŸ™‚

  4. TheMadHouse August 20, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    This so hit home with me. Must stop blinking too and that square peg thing, will it never end?

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Never! I think the plan is to raise them with the courage and the imagination to challenge “the man”… question everything.. and buy a decent newspaper πŸ˜‰

  5. Tenille August 20, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    It goes waaay too fast. But at least you have these beautiful, beautiful images to look over forever.

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Unbelievably fast – scary biscuits!

  6. Spudballoo August 20, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Sniff, is that your little big boy starting school? Gosh the photos are wonderful, the ‘apprehension’ one is totally stunning.

    My ‘Big’ boy starts school on 2 Sept. These last weeks are so bitter sweet. Feels like he’s slipping away from me. He’s so ready for school, I’m excited for him. But it’s the beginning of a significant step towards independence. Hear that? that’s my heart breaking a little bit.

    x

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      The trick is to be so bloody unprepared on the first day of term that you run around grabbing socks from the wash pile, ironing shirts, writing names on everything with a ball point and panicking that you will run out of time for photos. A good dose of hectic and you won’t even notice he’s in the door, he’s waved bye and you still have the breakfast dishes to do πŸ˜‰

  7. Kristin (Wanderlust) August 21, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    That backpack is almost as big as he is. πŸ™‚

    My son started kindergarten too this week. Bittersweet. He carried so much with him to school that first day.

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

      lol – it was empty! Well it had a bottle of juice and packet of crisps but that was it – that’s what comes from being unprepared (see above!)

  8. veryanniemary August 22, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    OMG – I don’t even know the buggers and I had a tear in my eye – must be the honey pepper vodka…don’t ask.

    Niamhy was crying the yesterday as it really hit home she was never going back to her elementary school again. The tears dried up when she got her first cell phone today – 11 bloody years old and she has a cell phone….if she wasn’t my kid I’d be disgusted.

    • mrsw August 22, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      Oh no! And you have to go through it all again at the end on junior high? It’s crappy for them innit?

      I think my wee man would love a cell phone and to be honest out of the three of them he’s WAAAY the best at answering the phone. But all he wants is an iPad (yeah – must try and get that changed to Lego sometime in the next 124 sleeps before Christmas).

  9. Emma August 23, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    How cool is your daughter! Does her school actually let her get away with that? I used to secretly wear badges inside of my school blazer! πŸ™‚

    • mrsw August 23, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      There’s a bit of a back story – in February the new rector announced that blazers would become part of the school uniform – not just blazers but a particular blazer sold by the school. He implied they would be compulsory and I challenged this since there is absolutely no evidence to suggest a correlation between schoolwear policies and achievement, in fact studies show that at secondary school if anything they have a negative impact. After further investigation I found out that a child cannot be punished for not wearing school uniform if their parent(s) do(es) not wish them to. Hence the Converse and lace. My son does not wish to wear a blazer at all and carries a little note signed by me saying I support him. I am THAT parent lol!

  10. Luschka @ Diary of a First Child August 23, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Those are beautiful pictures! I must say, I have a way to go yet (my LO is only 10mo) but I’m going to be ‘that’ parent too!

    • mrsw August 23, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      Yay! A protegy!

  11. Barbara August 23, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Wish I lived further north. Then I could be a “lady wot lunches” with you and Softthistle. Snot fair *stamps feet*.

    Fab pictures. Your children are Gorgeous (was going to type “gorgeous with a capital g” then realised I could just go ahead and type it with a real capital G – isn’t the internet fab?!).

    • mrsw August 23, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      The technology is AMAZING πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

