The one with Rachel in it (and her London dream for photographers)

19 Aug

Imagine living 10 minutes from this…

Looking out over this….

Oil free pelicans.

When I mentioned (briefly – every few weeks or so for about 13 months) here on the blog that we were heading to Florida I was tickled pink when one of my favouritest (tis too a word) photographers in the whole wild world suggested a meet-up. Β I’d read Rachel’s blog American Mum as she and her family relocated from North Carolina to Southwest Florida and thought to myself “Yeah MrW can drive that”.

In the end we booked a hotel and made a night of it, that turned into a night and a day of it. Rachel, Michal and their gorgeous munchkins Noah and Chloe first took us down to their local beach where, seriously, there were dolphins frolicking around in the sea. Heaven or what?

In the evening we were introduced to Rachel’s parents and we all talked the hind legs of a donkey over much yumminess at the local Olive Garden. This is what happens when a group of teachers get together, honestly you should see the edubloggers yapping on Twitter πŸ™‚

We must have managed to talk slowly enough to convince them we weren’t nutters (although Michal being a Scot no doubt helped all round) because we were very kindly invited round for some pool time the next day.

Rachel and Michal’s home is gorgeous, bright and light its huge walls are graced with stunning canvases and prints, all Rachel’s own work. It’s a strange experience, walking into someone’s home for the first time when you have already had glimpses into it though their blog. You feel like you know the place, you can point to canvases and “remember” where the photo was taken, how it was chosen to be hung, the shopping trip to IKEA to buy the discontinued furniture. It’s weird this blogging malarkey, that lets us into the lives of strangers without them knowing we’re there. I felt like a bit of a stalker!

By the time we hit their community pool the boys had warmed up to each other and got on swimmingly…

We swapped teeth rotting confectionary (as you do) Cadburys from Scotland to the US and a cornucopia of American icons from the US to Scotland (and we’re still working our way through them – the Chex are mine .. all mine!) and it was all we could do to drag ourselves away in time to drive back to Kissimmee.

We had an absolute ball, a real highlight of our month in the US. A wonderfully laid back time and we didn’t even talk about blogging or photography all that much.

And there’s a rather exciting p.s. to all this.

The Duriks are pondering a visit to the UK next summer and Rachel has mentioned she’d love to run one of her (un)workshops in London.

I’ll bite the hand of anyone who tries to get in front of me in that queue.

I imagine these things take a bit of organising and it would help to know of there’s enough interest to make it viable. So… can I take this opportunity to introduce the the most fabulous portrait photographer I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting and I highly recommend that anyone interested in learning from the woman who taught me how to get off manual (and much more not really in evidence here since I never did get to grips with the D90) go here and tell her so we can persuade her en masse that she simply MUST get on that plane and bring her (un)workshop to our shores.

That is all.

7 Responses to “The one with Rachel in it (and her London dream for photographers)”

  1. Rachel Durik August 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    You are hilarious. It was so lovely to meet you all and I do hope that next summer I might see you over there!

  2. Marylin August 19, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    What a wonderful trip! Sounds divine. πŸ™‚ I would love to go to a workshop next year… am saving for something photography related for next year, just not sure what yet! πŸ™‚

  3. Rhona August 20, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, I wholeheartedly agree that we need one of Rachel’s (un)workshops here in the UK. London would be so close for me too πŸ˜‰ If you’re going to bite my hand I might be second in the queue πŸ˜‰ x

  4. Spudballoo August 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Oh what a lovely post, such friendship and warmth. Love the photos of your little chap and his new pal, so special.

    WEll I’d be up for a London (un)workshop for sure! x

  5. If I Could Escape August 23, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Awww, so jealous! Wish we’d been able to meeet up. Sounds like you had a blast though. x

  6. Barbara August 24, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Sounds good. You and Marylin can come and stay with me and we’ll all go together. Do you think she’d do one just for the three of us?!

  7. Caroline (Frogmum) August 25, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    OOOH! Rachel D in the UK ~ now I would be UP for that (un)workshop even I don’t have my REAL DSLR by then (hoping I will though). I am NOT jealous at all that you got to meet her!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

