Make sure you are sitting down cos I'm going to say something nice

3 Sep

For 12 years I have (almost) religiously harangued my son whenever he leaves the house to check he has his drugs with him.  The little one even started joining in as soon as he could talk. Very cute it was too.

So I have absolutely so explanation as to why we turned up at Edinburgh Airport a few weeks ago with 1 epipen, half an inch of Piriton syrup and absolutely no prednisolone steroids for our 12 hours journey to the USA. There was a full, in fact double, complement of drugs in our checked in luggage but for the plane that was it. Woefully inadequate.

British Airways carry a supply of epipens on board, their cabin crew are trained to administer them and their meals are all nut-free but I was still uncomfortable travelling without any steroids. Andrew’s awkwardly allergic to more than just nuts.

I was carrying the tear off bit from his last prescription, the bit you use for repeat orders, just in case we needed to fill it in the US. On the off chance, a bleary eyed 6am off chance, I popped into the Boots branch in the airport departure lounge to see if I could buy steroids over the counter. That wasn’t an option but the pharmacist on duty took my slip, called the out of hours service in Perthshire, managed to get permission to dispense the drugs without prescription and made me a very happy and contented, if somewhat doofus mother.

Now it might surprise you to hear I write letters. Real letters. Usually whining moaning letters to whoever’s made me feel fed up that week. I very rarely post them as I find the writing process is usually enough to placate me (or make me feel like a right prat – one or t’other).

Back home from our holiday I decided to write a nice letter. A thank you letter. A boy did that lovely pharmacist save me from a hideous journey full of angst and panic letter. A cheers for saving my son from 9 hours of “You’re 13 – for crying out loud check your own bag!” letter.

I even posted it.

And not only did the people at Boots thank me for thanking them… they thanked me for thanking them and promised to pass on my thanks to the branch and sent me a thank you for thanking us gift.

Aren’t Boots lovely?

Just my colours too.

Should I thank them?

13 Responses to “Make sure you are sitting down cos I'm going to say something nice”

  1. Barbara September 3, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Well done boots. I am finding, in this allergy journey, that there are some people who are just wonderful and go way beyond what is necessary. And then there are some totally lazy jobsworths who just can’t be arsed. Meh.

    Just off to think of something I can write a thank you letter to Boots about.

    • mrsw September 3, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

      I know!! Neil wants me to thank Land Rover for something. Anything.

  2. Glen September 3, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    I hope you have thanked them for the thank you gift they gave you as thanks for thanking them

    • mrsw September 3, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

      I did and they said “Thanks”.

  3. Marylin September 3, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I’m so glad they were so good with what you needed so urgently! Yay for the makeup too! 🙂

    • mrsw September 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      Nice innit? I cannot remember the last time I bought myself make-up.

  4. Spudballoo September 3, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Oh this has really cheered me! Good for you and good for Boots. Win win…love that! xxx

    • mrsw September 3, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Tis a rare thing indeedy 🙂

  5. kelloggsville September 3, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Thanks for sharing that (I expect recompense in the post!)

    no seriously, wow! good old Boots.

  6. TheMadHouse September 3, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I love this, letters are such a wonderful thing and far too much noweverdays we concentrate on the bad, so way to go – I think I love you.

  7. Priness_L_88 September 6, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    aww that’s lovely of you and them!

  8. Dad Who Writes September 7, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Oh, I think you should! Boots, eh? Who’d a thought it? I mean, I shop there anyway but I’ll make a point of not feeling resentful the next time they hand me a discount voucher for a stack of make-up.

  9. Suzie Grogan September 8, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    My son works for our local Boots and they do value customer service. It really makes a difference when someone goes that extra bit further to put your mind at rest though doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

