Do you see yourself?

21 Sep

A couple of weeks ago Sally posted this over at Blogger.Ed. She took recent posts from the Tots100 bloggers and ran them through a word frequency programme and the results were quite revealing (yes yes I know it’s not wholly indicative or representative but think of it as a snapshot in time rather than a definitive list – go with the flow!).

Time, children, life, people, food, thought.

What does this say to you?

These words speak to me of home, of doubt, of struggle and of searching.

I wonder how many would feature in a similar exercise if undertaken a century ago? Apart from the obvious ones like “phone” and “Twitter” they could be from anytime.

For me the most striking word is “alone”. Is the loneliness of parenthood contemporary? Or a middle-class feature? (I am absolutely working-class I am not self identifying)

Or is it just that we bloggers are life’s natural loners?

“Don’t you want to join us?” I was recently asked by an acquaintance when he ran across me alone after midnight in a coffeehouse that was already almost deserted. “No, I don’t,” I said.

Franz Kafka

7 Responses to “Do you see yourself?”

  1. Marylin September 21, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I love my alone time, so if it were from my blog, that’s no doubt what I’d be writing about. How nice it is when the kids go to bed, and I get to just relax, play the piano, listen to music, catch up on blogs, and read. Not that I do that every evening! (other than playing the piano… it helps relax me and sends the boys to sleep it seems! LOL)

    I think as parent bloggers we’re all striving to find time for us, uninterrupted, and that can be hard. So that’s what I think of the word “alone” being in there. πŸ™‚

    • mrsw September 22, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      Oh you are such a glass half full girl aren’t you? πŸ™‚

      Maybe my interpretation of alone is more indicative of me than the list – meh.

      • Marylin September 22, 2010 at 10:45 am #

        It’s just the way I am! Honestly, I’ve been CRAVING alone time for such a long time, I think I’ve got it on the brain! Now D’s not about I am relishing every moment! πŸ™‚

  2. The Moiderer September 22, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I’m just impressed that Franz Kafka could be in a coffee shop after midnight. That’s wrong isn’t it? I am supposed to pick up something deeper from this post aren’t I?

    • mrsw September 22, 2010 at 10:12 am #

      Nah! I just liked the quote πŸ™‚

  3. cartside September 22, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh I’d love to see a comparison with other bloggers, and yes, in other times. Most of the words strike me as very timeless, and very human, daft word, but for the want of a better one it’ll do. Almost a bit too general – maybe because it’s amalgamated from so many blogs which will be a leveller of more diverse words? I like the word clouds from individual blogs too, gives such a snapshot of what they are about.
    And sometimes it’s surprising even for the blogger!

    I agree with the alone one being a good thing. I hardly get alone time and crave it (but when I do get too much of it, like my first weeks of mat leave, I hate being alone – grass is always greener on the other side!)

  4. Heather - Notes From Lapland September 25, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    that graphic is beautiful. I love it! And you’re right, it really could come from any time, the stuff parents have talked about and will continue to talk about, mostly likely, through the ages.

    Alone. That’s an interesting one. Could mean so many things, probably does. Being alone can either be a curse or a dream, can it not? Especially for parents.

Leave a Reply

